Vampire Knight

I have got to admit that I’m a sucker for vampire-related novels. Bram Stoker’s Dracula is a classic vampire story and till today, it is one of my favourite all-time novel. Come to think of it, that was when my vampire-fetishism (fetishism? Is it even a word?) started.

I have read plenty of vampire mangas. Among them are Bisco Hatori’s (she’s famous for Ouran High School Host Club) A Thousand Years of Snow which is said to be on hiatus as she’s currently working on her hit series, Host Club, Vampire Game, Bloody Kiss, Trinity Blood, Vampire Kisses (an original English language manga), Blood Alone which surprisingly melts my heart at times, Vampire Juuji Kai and of course, Hino Matsuri’s latest hit series, Vampire Knight.

Speaking of Vampire Knight, I can literally hear the squeals of fangirls everywhere. Some of them are rooting for Zero, some of them just love Kaname and I think most of them can’t decide between the two HOT vampires. Personally, I’m in the Kaname camp. I’m not sure myself why I choose Kaname over Zero although Zero is equally hot. I can’t say that I like villainy characters since Kaname doesn’t seem to be on the evil side…well, then again, didn’t Anakin Skywalker turned into Darth Vader in the end? Oh well, I have used a wrong example. Darth Vader turned out to be a good guy in the end didn’t he? Lol. I am definitely a Kaname fan to the point that I nearly bawled over when it is revealed that he is Yuki’s bro…well, they are not siblings by blood but didn’t he mentioned that vampires sometimes marries their own sibling in order to maintain the purity of their bloodline? That means Kaname still got the chance to win Yuki over. Yay!

Like Hino Matsuri’s previous works, Vampire Knight boasts great artwork, beautiful characters, a great storyline and gorgeous vamps to boot! I must say that Vampire Knight is Hino Matsuri’s best work ever (so far). That is why I’m literally over the moon when it is announced that Vampire Knight will be made into anime and we will get to see Zero and Kaname in the flesh (literally) on the TV in April 2008.

This is just wonderful. Can’t wait for April to arrive!

Leave a Reply

