[Manga] Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Finally, it’s about time that those two acknowledge their respective feelings! And by those two I meant Usui Takumi and Ayuzawa. In the recent chapter (chapter 32), Ayuzawa finally acknowledged her feelings towards Usui and from what I gather, they are officially an item, judging from the end of chapter 32 where they were seen walking out of the classroom hand-in-hand.

For those who aren’t familiar with the manga series, here’s the summary of the series taken from Manga Updates:

From Aku Tenshi:
Ayuzawa Misaki is the student council president of the former all-boy school, Seika High School. In order to protect the girls, she battles the boys everyday. On the other hand, she secretly works at a "Maid Cafe". But a popular boy from school, Usui Takumi, found out! Living in between the double identity of a Maid and a student council president.

maid_sama

***

I must say that it follows the formula of typical shoujo manga – bishounens, romance, girl-hates-guy-and-falls-for-him-in-the-end, guy saves the damsel in distress kinda thing, etc. Oddly enough, this series reminded me of another LaLa shoujo series, Special A. What’s similar between those two is the fact that the two main couples did not acknowledged each other’s feelings until several volumes later and also the part where the guy is obviously in love with the girl but the girl tends to think otherwise (think Hikari and Kei).

I know that I’m saying all this as if typical shoujo is lame but heck, I think the shoujo elements is what makes the story attractive to avid shoujo fans. Hehe…long live shoujo mangas!

2 thoughts on “[Manga] Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

  1. I keep seeing this in stores and all, and I sometimes pick it up to look at but somehow after a few chapters it didn’t really appeal to me. Maybe it’s the girl’s characterisation. Dunno if I should give this another try.

    I did enjoy the Special A anime, up to the last epis. But didn’t quite like the manga as much.

  2. Eve says:

    I love maid sama and special a in both of there forms but your right the manga for special a drags out much, but some parts are just so cute,but I LOVE maid sama manga

Leave a Reply

