[Anime] Bakemonogatari

Bakemonogatari In English Bakemonogatari is literally translated as ghostory and thinking that it is a ghost story, my interest has somewhat peaked; and moreover, seeing as there isn’t much interesting anime for this summer season, I don’t see why not give this a shot.

Tried as I might, by the fourth episode, I decided to put it on hold. It just does not live up to my expectations but then again, there are some who find it interesting. Maybe it’s just me who’s not used to this type of anime, or to be more precise, the way the anime is presented. Plus, the pantyshot scene (among many other “fanservice”) turned me off.

Watching Bakemonogatari triggers my sense of déjà vu for somehow, this anime reminds me of another…

Right. Come to think of it, I remember reading somewhere that the studio that produces Bakemonogatari is the same one that produces Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. It’s no wonder that I find Bakemonogatari somewhat familiar. And in Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei’s case, I didn’t manage to finish this off either no matter how good the reviews that it receive. Do I even need to mention that the premise of the story (Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei) is interesting but it somehow didn’t meet my expectations? Then again, it’s probably just me. One more similarity between these two animes: the voice actor for the main character of Bakemonogatari is Hiroshi Kamiya who is also the voice actor for Itoshiki Nozomu (the depressing high school teacher who constantly thinks of suicide) of Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei.

Anyways, back to Bakemonogatari…

Bakemonogatari, or loosely translated as ghostory in English is about this high school student Araragi Koyomi who became a human again after he became a vampire (??). One day, out of the blue, he stumbled upon Senjogahara Hitagi who fell down the stairs and into his arm. Surprisingly for him, Senjogahara weights next to nothing or is as though as if she is weightless which is impossible.

Later on, he learnt that Senjogahara became weightless after she encountered a mysterious crab (??). To help her solve her problem of her being weightless, he brought her to Oshino Meme who had once helped him became human again after being made into a vampire.

After some weird rituals, Oshino managed to help Senjogahara get her weight back. From then onwards, Senjogahara hangs around with Araragi (and they became fast friends?). If you think that weirdness stops there, think again as more peculiarities ensue.

At one glance, yeah, Bakemonogatari does look awfully interesting but somehow I got bored of it. On a second thought, I might just finished it off once the series is completed…who knows, I might just like it (the same case applies to Ga-rei Zero).

On a random note, I like the ending theme Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari by Supercell featuring Nagi 🙂

2 thoughts on “[Anime] Bakemonogatari

  1. Too bad you found this series boring, I personally love it since the art is just amazing to me. You should give it another try on this since the story is getting really good now.

    ps- I love the ending too!! have you seen the new ep MV yet?

    Love the art of that MV as well

  2. Jason says:

    I certainly agree about the pantyshots – first episode opened with that, and I came very close to dismissing it outright.

    Still. There’s something that’s appealing about it to me – sort of I like I feel 15 again. Now, I never wish to be 15 again, but the series is triggering some nostalgia.

    I also found the dialogue to be more interesting than I’d expected it to be.

    I can understand why it’s boring, though – series moves bloody slowly.

Leave a Reply

