Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge J-Drama coming!

I’ve been a fan of the series since I watched the anime back in 2007. Then I picked up the manga. The anime’s quality was less than satisfactory, I’d say. The artwork is less pretty, and sometimes it makes me wonder if the animators were lazy when I see heads drawn as round shapes without faces and then there were complains about the opening and ending sequence that lack creativity since all it takes were scenes from the anime itself. Come to think of it, I don’t usually watch mediocre-quality animes but still, Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge (or The Wallflower) has a certain charm about it.

So anyways, according to ANN, it was announced recently that a TV drama adaptation is in works for January premiere. I wonder who will play Sunako and the rest of the boys. Any thoughts? Is there gonna be a chibi (mini or small) version of Sunako as portrayed in the anime and manga? For those who don’t follow the series, Sunako is often pictured as short and small as her normal mode and only when she’s in serious mode that she turns into her original self.

Anime and manga aside, I sure hope that the J-Drama adaptation turns out well. I’ve seen and heard of J-drama adaptations of popular manga series turn awry. Thank goodness Nodame Cantabile and Otomen turned out fine and hopefully the same can be said about The Wallflower come January.

Update (December 2, 2009)

According to ANN, the casts for the upcoming dramatization of Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge has already been confirmed with Kamenashi Kazuya (of KAT-TUN) and Oomasa Aya leading the cast as Takano Kyouhei and Nakahara Sunako respectively. The j-drama adaptation is set to begin airing on January 15th next year. More info is available here.

My thoughts: Personally, I’m not into Japanese boybands so I don’t know much about KAT-TUN, hailed as Japanese top boyband nor do I listen to any of their song (or any other idol-based boyband for that matter) but the KAT-TUN member slated to play Kyouhei is definitely a hottie. Kamenashi is not the only cast who belongs to a boyband. If you look at the other casts for Toyama Yukinojo and Oda Takenaga, they too, are also part of boybands. All that aside, I’ve got to say that they cast the right guy for the part of lovable and feminine-looking Yuki. Google him up if you don’t believe me. 

One thought on “Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge J-Drama coming!

Leave a Reply

