Random: Nodame Cantabile, Shinrei Tantei Yakumo, Shiki, Bleach Movie 4

Nodame Cantabile 2-part Movie

After some digging, I found out that indeed, the 2-part Nodame films are making its way to Malaysia after all though we probably wouldn’t get to see it until March (the earliest). Still, better late than never, eh? Darn it, my anticipation (of watching the Nodame movies, that is) is running high.

Anime Adaptations (Shinrei Tantei Yakumo, Shiki)

It is announced that anime adaptations of my favourite manga series Shinrei Tantei Yakumo and Shiki are in works scheduled to be released some time around next year. In case you’re wondering what the two series are all about or if you aren’t familiar with the series, read on.

Shinrei Tantei Yakumo

Shinrei Tantei Yakumo tells the story of a boy with the ability to see ghosts and spirits of the deceased. Based on novel of the same name by Kaminaga Manabu. As of now, there are two manga adaptations of the novel that I know of by Miyako Ritsu and Oda Suzuka, both meant for shoujo demographic though I don’t see why male readers wouldn’t enjoy it. Personally, the one adapted by Miyako Ritsu is my favourite and recently, scanlated version of Oda Suzuka’s manga adaptation has been released by OMFGG – read it and I have the feeling that I’m going to like this one as well. As far as storyline goes, both versions have some similarities but of course, seeing as they are both based on a novel (which I have yet to read) there are bound to be some resemblance.

Speaking of the anime adaptation, it is likely that it will be based on the manga adaptation by Miyako Ritsu. Nothing is certain about this just yet though. It’s just a speculation on my part.

Miyako Ritsu's version Oda Suzuka's version

Shiki

Fans of Ghost Hunt (which has also been adapted into an anime) would probably know this one since it’s done by the same author, Fuyumi Ono. And like Ghost Hunt, Shiki also falls under the horror genre. However, unlike Ghost Hunt where the horror elements are spirits and ghosts, Shiki is all about the undead roaming a reclused village where the villagers slowly die one by one for unknown reasons. It is thought that a pandemic is spreading within the village but a doctor believes otherwise after some investigations.

 Shiki

I hate to compare the two series (since they are both different and all), but I have to say that I like Ghost Hunt better than Shiki (yes, I’m currently following both manga series and having watched Ghost Hunt anime). Probably because I’m not a fan of the undeads or zombies alike.

And now Shiki is getting an anime adaptation. Yay!

Bleach Movie 4

ANN recently announced that Bleach Movie 4 is confirmed to be in works along with Naruto movie 4. Great. Can’t wait to see how this one turns out. I enjoyed the first three Bleach movies and I don’t see why I wouldn’t enjoy this one as well.

Leave a Reply

